Writing Prompts: What Types Are There?

And How They Can Help You

Amethyst Champagne
4 min readNov 19, 2021
Photo by Mark Fletcher-Brown on Unsplash

There are many times when I’m stumped about what to write next. And I know that’s normal for writers.

But a while back, I was really struggling to create new stories. So, I looked for outside inspiration.

In the form of prompts.

As I looked through all sorts of prompts and came up with a couple myself, I noticed different prompt styles. I found this fascinating, and I am now telling you about it.

What Are the Prompt Types?

From what I saw, there are four major prompt types: sentence, dialogue, scenario, and item. While I’m sure the names are self-explanatory, I’ll tell you about each type.

Sentence Prompt

These are the ones that give a sentence of a potential story or poem, and you’re supposed to continue the story.

I don’t see this one as much, and I’ve done it twice. And both times were for poems. It was fun, even though poetry isn’t really my thing. But I don’t think I could do the same for a short story.

Dialogue Prompt

These prompts are of two people talking to each other about something. They often drop you into the middle of a potential…

--

--

Amethyst Champagne

I write personal stories, articles, and more in hopes of helping others.