What is Writing Voice?

Amethyst Champagne
3 min readFeb 2, 2022

Hi there, it’s me again, and for this post, I will be talking about what writing voice is and how you can discover yours if you haven’t yet.

As we all know, everyone has a unique way of speaking, and it’s difficult to duplicate. Well, writing voice is the way someone writes. It can sound like their speaking voice or sound completely different, but it’s unique to the person.

And it can range from casual to formal, depending on the audience. Different genres have different expectations on how you express your thoughts and ideas.

Even though I have a primary voice, which sounds like my internal monologue (Because what writer doesn’t talk to themselves, haha), it varies from the types of stories and posts I write.

My fiction voice aligns closely with the personalities of my characters, while my Writing Tips posts, blog posts, and stories about myself carry a more conversational tone. And my poems have a life of their own.

So if you find this is happening to you, don’t worry. It’s normal. In fact, you should play around with your writing voice, especially if you’re new to writing.

Like with anything, it will take time, consistency, trial, and error. Lots and lots of trial and error.

--

--

Amethyst Champagne

I write personal stories, articles, and more in hopes of helping others.