Today is as Good of a Day as Any

Amethyst Champagne
4 min readMar 6, 2022
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

Yes, I know it sounds a bit cliche, and maybe it is. But with everything that has happened over the last couple of years, I’ve decided to kick my horrible procrastination habit once and for all.

It’s been an ongoing problem for me since God knows when, especially when I was in high school and didn’t know how to approach an assignment, no matter how much the teachers explained.

Then I wouldn’t do it, which gave me great anxiety in class, followed by my mom yelling at me for not doing the work when we had our end-of-semester meetings. I still cringe when I think about it.

Yeah, those were the good old days.

College wasn’t much better, but at least I was an adult, so my mistakes and money were mine.

However, when life as we knew it came to an end in 2020, I decided it was time for me to stop pushing back my responsibilities and to just do the work, fun times, or passions that called to me.

At first, it was hard. I knew I had stuff to do, but I’d either do nothing or do productive procrastination, which is doing less relevant activities to avoid the big things while tricking yourself into believing you’ve actually accomplished something.

But then I started tackling my problem head-on, beginning with a twenty-eight-day email course teaching…

--

--

Amethyst Champagne

I write personal stories, articles, and more in hopes of helping others.