To Dye or Not to Dye?

Amethyst Champagne
5 min readApr 12, 2022

If I had to pick another love besides writing, editing, or reading, it would probably be dyeing my hair with funky colors. I love turning my blonde hair into blue, pink, red, green, purple, or a mix of several.

And I always get tons of compliments. Most recently, I was with my current colors when my family and I returned to Las Vegas to celebrate my twenty-third birthday.

It’s all on the top of my head, with blue on the outside, magenta on the inside, and purple blending in where the two colors mingled.

People were saying how awesome my hair was wherever I went. I think I even overheard a showgirl call me cotton candy. But, of course, she wasn’t wrong, and I found it funny.

How My Hair Dyeing Journey Began

My hair-dyeing journey started over ten years ago when I was in sixth grade.

I don’t remember why, but my mom had suggested that I put pink streaks into my hair. I know it wasn’t for picture day since it took place before school started, and I was partway through the year.

Anyway, despite being one of the weird kids who didn’t really have any friends, students and…

--

--

Amethyst Champagne

I write personal stories, articles, and more in hopes of helping others.