The Spring Clean

Amethyst Champagne
3 min readJul 3, 2021

Ah, so spring is right around the corner, the days getting longer, the air warming up, and the green reappearing.

During this time, it’s common for all of us to want to do some cleaning. Why spring? Who knows. Maybe because it represents a new beginning, much like the new year.

I certainly feel happier when the sun is shining high in the sky and the air smells fresh.

But where do we start? Well, this will depend on each person, no one having the same methods, thought process, or house type.

So I’ll tell you how I do it.

Now I don’t clean everything in one day, as that would overwhelm me, but the first thing I tend to do is start opening the windows beforehand to allow the warm air to freshen up my house.

I know it’s not cleaning or reorganizing, but it does put a little pep in my step, as does plugging myself into my music, which helps motivate me for.

After that, I start sifting through my clothes, pulling out each type and throwing them onto my bed. I then grab each piece of clothing, deciding if I’m gonna keep it.

My main rule for clothing is if I haven’t worn or don’t plan on wearing it for six months, I let it go.

But instead of throwing it away, unless I have no other choice, or selling it, I either donate…

--

--

Amethyst Champagne

I write personal stories, articles, and more in hopes of helping others.