Squirrel!

What It’s Like Living With ADHD

Amethyst Champagne
5 min readMar 27, 2024
Photo by Transly Translation Agency on Unsplash

ADHD

Short for Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder.

It is one of the most common mental health “disorders” in the world. Yet, it is terribly misunderstood by many, even if they even vaguely know what ADHD is.

And after reading various stories from writers with ADHD, I want to help people understand it better so they can help and support those in their lives who have it.

So here’s my story.

Growing Up With ADHD

Photo by Wilhelm Gunkel on Unsplash

It wasn’t easy growing up with this quirk.

During my time in foster care, most of the adults in my life didn’t really know what to do with me. I wasn’t normal, but I also didn’t have severe special needs, unlike most of my foster siblings.

Which led to me slipping through the cracks in many ways, especially education-wise.

Until my mom started getting me back and helping me properly navigate my ADHD, as she has it herself.

After I Started Medication

--

--

Amethyst Champagne

I write personal stories, articles, and more in hopes of helping others.