Process Journaling; What Is It?

Amethyst Champagne
4 min readAug 17, 2021

Hi, it’s me, and for this post, I’ll be discussing something called process journaling.

What is Process Journaling?

What is it? Well, process journaling is writing about your writing. Metawriting, if you will.

Now, I’m sure many of you haven’t heard the term before, and I don’t blame you. I didn’t know about it until I attended that writing conference a few years ago.

I took lots of notes as the speaker went through the spiel about it, and at the first chance, I tried process journaling. I was impressed by it and kept doing it for a while.

I filled several journals and had them by my bed for quite a while.

How to Structure It

So, what you do is after finishing your story or section, you set aside some time to write down various aspects of what you have written down for whatever time frame it was. And it’s divided into different categories.

--

--

Amethyst Champagne

I write personal stories, articles, and more in hopes of helping others.