Practicing Minimalism

Without Feeling Overwhelmed

Amethyst Champagne
4 min readMay 23, 2024
Photo by Rahul Chakraborty on Unsplash

Ah, another fabulous lifestyle that has become trendy within the last few years — and many people believe it has only been around for that amount of time.

As usual, the extreme version of it is the most advertised, leaving people feeling like they’re failing at one more thing.

But what is minimalism? And can it be practiced in less extreme ways?

What is Minimalism?

According to the internet:

Minimalism is owning fewer possessions, living with intentionality, and finding freedom from consumerism.

A more concise explanation than what I could have provided.

What Made Me Choose Minimalism

At the time of this decision, I felt overwhelmed by the number of items stuffed in my single-wide mobile home.

And while I couldn’t kick everything to the curb, as most of the stuff wasn’t mine, I certainly had control over my possessions.

So, I made a goal to remove the ones I didn’t care about from my life.

Why Do People Find Minimalism Overwhelming to Attempt?

--

--

Amethyst Champagne

I write personal stories, articles, and more in hopes of helping others.