POV Part Three: Second-Person

Amethyst Champagne
3 min readJul 6, 2021

For the last installment of my POV posts, which is going to be shorter than the other two, I’m going to be discussing the second-person point of view.

So, let’s get to it!

So, What is Second-Person?

I’m sure many of you probably haven’t heard of this one because it isn’t used much in full-length novels but more so in short stories and flash fiction, which aren’t always publicly known.

It is the you/your/yours point of view.

While there is technically a narrator for this POV, it offers the unique ability to place the reader as the protagonist by saying you instead of he/she or I. In a strange sense, you are simultaneously the reader, the main character, and the narrator.

I find the concept cool, considering so many of us dream of being in the worlds of our favorite characters, after all. I give applause to whoever invented it.

Due to its nature, there is only one version of second-person, unlike with third-person, which has limited, multiple, and more. You can’t really have multiple POVs when the style is you.

That would be mind-bending, if even possible.

You want to place your audience with your characters in all fiction and specific non-fiction stories, such as…

--

--

Amethyst Champagne

I write personal stories, articles, and more in hopes of helping others.