Past or Present; Which Tense do I Write In?

Amethyst Champagne
4 min readJul 25, 2021

Hi again, it’s me.

For this post, I’ll be discussing the two main tenses you can use in your writing, their pros and cons, and tips for each. But first, let me tell you about what each is.

Past Tense

The first one is past tense, meaning was/were/would. It is, for the most part, the default for most fiction and many non-fiction pieces, full-length novels especially, so it’s probably the one you’re used to and more likely to write in.

For some reason, and I’m not sure why, our brains often interpret past tense in stories as if it’s in the present, and we don’t even think twice about it. Like an automatic, unconscious assumption, which I find fascinating.

I don’t see a downside to using past tense, writing-wise. It’s easy to do, reliable, and readers will always be able to understand who’s talking and what is trying to be said.

Maybe, except for how easy it is to write in a passive voice, something you should try to avoid whenever possible.

Present Tense

Present tense, meaning am/is/are, has been growing in popularity, especially in self-published books and shorter writing pieces. You’ll notice many pieces written in present tense on Vocal and other fiction-driven writing…

--

--

Amethyst Champagne

I write personal stories, articles, and more in hopes of helping others.