Outline Vs. Freeform

Do You Want To Be A Plotter Or Pantser?

Amethyst Champagne
4 min readJun 13, 2021
Photo by Kinga Howard on Unsplash

So, this is a question I have heard from multiple places over the time I’ve been writing, including once from a panel at a writer’s workshop I attended a few years ago, and I have heard multiple answers to it. I’ve even wondered about it myself.

Is Outlining Your Story or Doing it Freehand Better?

Well, I think the answer to that question depends on your personal preferences and which method blends better with your brand of creativity. But I will discuss the pros and cons of both styles and let you decide.

What is Outlining?

Photo by Devin Avery on Unsplash

Outlining (or plotting) is drawing up a plan for how you want your story or essay to progress before the writing begins in an organized fashion.

It’s like a map you create; instead of being a guide around town, it is a guide to the story or essay in your mind. However, unlike an actual map, you can either stick with it or tweak it as you go.

If it’s an essay, you’d jot down the introduction, main points, supporting evidence, and conclusion. If it’s a book…

--

--

Amethyst Champagne

I write personal stories, articles, and more in hopes of helping others.