My Resolution for Rest

Amethyst Champagne
4 min readJan 15, 2022

As we start the new year, many of us are trying to create new habits and set in new routines. This is primarily due to new years resolutions.

And with everything that has happened in and out of the U.S., self-care is now a top priority for many people, sleep being one of the best ways to care for yourself.

For the majority of my life, I’ve had trouble falling asleep in a reasonable timeframe. Unfortunately, overthinking and ADHD will do that to a girl. And neither is going away anytime soon.

So, like with everything else in my life, I have to keep my sleep routine structured. And that is hard sometimes. I do have specific cues already in place, though.

One thing I’ve been doing for a while is drinking hot water after dinner. It helps me make sure I don’t eat anything else for the night while giving me hydration.

It has helped me not overeat or eat late into the night, and no, I don’t mean midnight snacking either. I often have dinner later, between seven and eight, so the water prevents me from having dessert after nine pm.

It also tells my brain that it’s time to start relaxing and get ready for sleep.

Another thing I like doing is reading for about a half-hour to an hour before I go to sleep. My brain can unwind further while enjoying some mental…

--

--

Amethyst Champagne

I write personal stories, articles, and more in hopes of helping others.