My Quasi-Minimalism

Amethyst Champagne
4 min readMar 25, 2022

Sometimes, stuff can become overwhelming. And I’m not talking about mental or emotional baggage either, although the pandemic has made us deal with that, too.

I mean actual clutter, items we don’t use that are taking up space, and those possessions we can’t make ourselves get rid of because of the potential backlash that may be received.

Before 2020, many of us didn’t realize just how much stuff we owned until we were forced to stay in our homes all day, every day, for at least two weeks.

It was like that for me, although not at first. Not for a while. In fact, I didn’t start to truly feel overwhelmed by my belongings until about a month or two ago.

Long time, I know.

But we live in a single-wide mobile home, and we tend to be homebodies, which makes us more used to the number of items we own.

It wasn’t until I started reading articles about minimalism and learning how to get go of certain possessions, and going through my grandma’s hoards of crap that I realized they had a point.

I didn’t even know how much stuff was in my room. And it’s smaller than most walk-in closets these days.

So, I began to dig out anything I could find since I’m a bit of a packrat and like to shove things into whatever hole I can find and audit all of my…

--

--

Amethyst Champagne

I write personal stories, articles, and more in hopes of helping others.