My NaNoWriMo!

Amethyst Champagne
3 min readNov 3, 2021

Yes, it is upon us. National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo for short. It is the bread and butter for novel writers or any writer. I don’t know how or when it started, but it’s a national competition-like event.

And this year will be the first time that I will be participating. But not in the way you might be thinking.

The standard goal for this event is to write fifty-thousand words in one month, which is the typical word count for a novel. Yet, this generally works better for writers who already have a novel planned.

So, my goals will be different.

As of late, I’ve been struggling with having ideas and having the motivation to write, which you can read about in my post, Why Take a Break from Writing.

Luckily for me, my mojo is coming back just in time for NaNoWriMo. And I have several goals I plan to fulfill (rubs hands together while smiling).

The first one is to finish and publish, if possible, the fourth book of my self-published urban/paranormal fantasy series on Amazon, Angelic Entourage.

I have slowed down on writing for it because, for one, I’ve been focusing on my business, and for another, I’ve been having fun creating posts and stories on Vocal and then posting them on Medium.

--

--

Amethyst Champagne

I write personal stories, articles, and more in hopes of helping others.