My Kitchen Table

Amethyst Champagne
3 min readJun 10, 2021

As writers, we all have that place where we prefer to write at above all others. It is comfortable and allows us to forget the world and pour our creativity on either paper or into a computer or laptop.

For some, it is a coffeeshop, in which the coffee scented atmosphere makes some of us feel more legitimate as we glance over at other writers typing away.

For others, it is the library for the peace and quiet, which isn’t the easiest thing to obtain sometimes. There is knowledge stored on every shelf if we need it and we don’t need to buy the books.

A home office is another place many people have, where the mind is conditioned to focused and if you prefer having a regular computer, it’s a prime spot to set that up.

And some of us write in our school common rooms because we are already there and it’s convenient. And maybe use it as a reward for finishing our school work.

For me, it is at home at my kitchen table.

Although I’ve written other places, quite often an well mind you, I always know that my kitchen table will there for me.

It is the perfect height for me, has plenty of space so I don’t feel cramped, and it is right close to the coffee pot if I want any, or the fridge if I want water instead.

--

--

Amethyst Champagne

I write personal stories, articles, and more in hopes of helping others.