My Cooking Journey

Amethyst Champagne
4 min readAug 15, 2022

Cooking.

What an awesome and tedious activity to undergo every day.

We have to make food in order to feed our bodies, but many of us either don’t know how to or dread stepping into that kitchen.

I used to be one of those who didn’t really like or appreciate cooking, although I liked cooking shows and knew everything about food safety, mainly because my mom is a baker and cook.

And I didn’t enjoy making food with her.

Why I Didn’t Enjoy Cooking

You see, she’s a type A personality and a bit of a perfectionist when it comes to cooking or baking, so it made it hard for me to have fun in the kitchen with her.

And even when I cooked independently, the recipes were sometimes hard to read. If you’ve read a cookbook or been on Pinterest, you know how compressed the directions and confusing the formats can be.

And don’t get me started on watching cooking videos on YouTube, which my stepdad does quite often when it’s his turn to cook.

How Things Changed In 2020

--

--

Amethyst Champagne

I write personal stories, articles, and more in hopes of helping others.