I Missed My Flight!

A First For Me

Amethyst Champagne
2 min readMay 31, 2024
Photo by Ashim D’Silva on Unsplash

I did it!

After months of anticipation and stress, I’m finally here.

In the Lone Star State.

In case you haven’t read my other posts, I’d been planning to move down to Texas to be with my partner in May for about six months.

So, naturally, I was excited when the 25th came, especially as I boarded the Bellair shuttle and watched as I left the place I’d called home for so long.

But getting there turned out to be a lot more complicated than I’d anticipated.

I Missed My Flight

While this wasn’t my first time flying, the one thing I hadn’t accounted for when planning was that it was Memorial Day weekend.

And that meant the airport was stuffed to the gills with other travelers.

I tried to be as fast as I could, but TSA and the check lines were impossibly long, leaving me to sign up for the Pre-check.

But even that hadn’t helped, and the airplane door closed minutes before I reached the gate.

I was so pissed, mostly at myself for not going on an earlier shuttle.

At least the nice lady at the desk was able to get me on another flight, although I had to wait around for about…

--

--

Amethyst Champagne

I write personal stories, articles, and more in hopes of helping others.