I Just Finished My First Ghostwriting Assignment!

Amethyst Champagne
4 min readAug 22, 2023

Yes, I have just completed my first ghostwriting assignment, and I don’t know how you guys feel about the idea of writing someone else’s story.

But I want to share my experience with those who are considering doing the same.

So either leave this post or keep reading!

What is Ghostwriting?

Ghostwriting is drafting a story for someone else, knowing that the rights belong to them, and you won’t be credited for it. You can be paid anywhere from a few hundred to a few thousand dollars per project.

It’s mainly done for fiction and non-fiction books, but I’m sure ghostwriting can be done for other types of writing.

Why Did I Start Ghostwriting?

I’ve been dabbling with the idea of freelance writing along with my freelance editing for a while.

It began when I lost my blog editing job in January. After a brief period of shock and disappointment, I realized I was going to need another form of income.

Sometimes editing gigs are hard to snag, usually in the summer and November due to NaNoWriMo. People are either enjoying those warm, sunny days or trying to draft their book in a month.

--

--

Amethyst Champagne

I write personal stories, articles, and more in hopes of helping others.