I Joined a Writing Group!

Amethyst Champagne
4 min readMay 29, 2023

Writing groups.

We all hear about how insightful they can be, but how many of us are part of a group that isn’t online?

I know it’s convenient to just log onto Facebook, LinkedIn, or Discord and chat with like-minded writers, along with sharing our work and hoping for reads.

But those can only get you so far. And that’s where meeting in person comes in. So, let’s jump into my experience!

How I Found Mine

The ball got rolling in mid-March.

I was reading the latest issue of an events magazine for my favorite bookstore when I spotted a section advertising open writing groups on one of the pages.

The two that stuck out to me were Prompts and Writing Fiction. The others were mainly poetry-related, and it wasn’t what I needed.

Prompts had a siren’s call to me, though. It was exactly what I’d been looking for. And it fit better into my schedule.

Of course, I didn’t start right away. Prompts only meets every first and third Wednesday of each month.

And since it was closer to the end of March than the beginning, I figured I’d wait until April to join; I prefer starting new things at the beginning of the month.

Why I Joined

--

--

Amethyst Champagne

I write personal stories, articles, and more in hopes of helping others.