I Feel Like A Woman?

Trying To Embrace My Feminine Side And Adulthood

Amethyst Champagne
4 min readMar 13, 2024
Photo by Monika Kozub on Unsplash

In light of internal ponderings and International Women’s Day, I feel the urge to write about being, well, a woman and a grown-up.

My experience, anyway.

Being a Child

For the four years I was in foster care, my foster mom did everything she could to turn me into a girly girl.

I don’t remember much, but I know she put me in dresses and skirts and even forced me to have long hair.

She claimed my mom tried to make me look like a boy, which wasn’t true. I don’t know what caused her to think that, either.

While her efforts stuck for a bit as I gradually returned home, one of the first things I did was get my hair cut.

She was upset, but my mom defended my choice, knowing that’s what I wanted.

Being a Teenager

My late childhood and early teen years were odd.

Moving away from years of being forced to dress like a girly girl during middle school, my hair and clothing styles left plenty of people wondering.

My shirts were baggy since my long waist restricted what sizes I could wear without showing anything at that point. My haircut was a…

--

--

Amethyst Champagne

I write personal stories, articles, and more in hopes of helping others.