How I Feel about Medium

Amethyst Champagne
4 min readApr 21, 2022

There has been a lot of debate over which writing platform is better; Vocal or Medium? It’s kind of like apples and oranges, only for indie writers. And I’ve seen it go both ways in my Facebook groups.

For those of you who haven’t heard of it, Medium is another great online writing platform for anyone who wants to write.

But I’m not going to say which one is better. This is me telling you about Medium and my journey with the platform.

Why I Went on Medium

I first started writing on the platform in May of 2021. Well, it wasn’t so much writing as it was importing stories from Vocal and my blog onto Medium.

I wanted more people to read my stories, and I heard about Medium (I don’t even remember how anymore), so I figured, why the hell not? And I signed up for the free version.

But I didn’t put too much thought or care into it. And not for quite a while. I was focused on becoming a better writer on Vocal and viewed Medium as simply an extension.

Plus, it focuses more on personal stories and articles rather than fiction, which I didn’t care for at the time.

But then I decided to become a paying member on the platform so I could read more than three stories a month.

--

--

Amethyst Champagne

I write personal stories, articles, and more in hopes of helping others.