Dialogue Tags; When and How to Use Them

Amethyst Champagne
3 min readAug 10, 2021

Hey, it’s me again, and for this post, I’ll be discussing dialogue tags, how to use them, and when to omit them from your dialogue.

What Are Dialogue Tags?

So, in case you don’t know what they are, dialogue tags are little descriptors used after a character speaks, he said/she said/I said. They are seen in every piece of fiction and plenty of non-fiction writing.

And I’m sure many of you have heard or read an article saying it’s not the best idea to use the he said/she said/I said tag every time. It gets somewhat repetitive and annoying.

So let me guess, you also use the words replied, stated, and commented? Yeah, I figured. You don’t want to do that either. It makes you look amateurish and gets tedious to read and write after a while.

Don’t feel bad, though. I did this, too, when I first started writing.

Many authors do this, whether indie, self-published, or traditionally published, which is the more annoying one since they have a plethora of editors at their disposal.

I guess you would say it’s a rite of passage for creative writers.

How Not To Use So Many Dialogue Tags

--

--

Amethyst Champagne

I write personal stories, articles, and more in hopes of helping others.