Being a New Gamer

Amethyst Champagne
5 min readDec 6, 2023
Photo by Alexander Jawfox on Unsplash

Well, it’s both exciting and challenging. New games and games re-released with Unreal Engine 5 are definitely a draw.

On the other hand, I am a tadpole in an ocean of sharks and whales. So, navigating this new world will be an arduous test of mental will and strength.

But I’m up for that challenge.

Why Am I Only Joining the Gaming World Now?

Photo by Carl Raw on Unsplash

Yeah, I know twenty-four is a bit late to become a gamer, especially since most begin as kids.

But my parents aren’t gamers and have often said that gamers are pasty shut-ins with no social skills. And already lacking certain social skills, they wanted to keep me from that.

So that colored my opinion of those who played video games more than a couple of times a week until the last few years.

I started making friends who were gamers, and my opinion about it began shifting a bit. However, several of them treated it like it was their job even though they weren’t professionals, which annoyed me greatly.

But it wasn’t until my second trip to Texas that I realized gaming can be fun. Or at least virtually…

--

--

Amethyst Champagne

I write personal stories, articles, and more in hopes of helping others.